Copyright Drama

(title copyrighted by Atou?! XD)

So, after last week’s drama, I was hoping that things would’ve cooled down a tad.  I mean, the person hadn’t removed the video yet or even replied, but I wasn’t really getting my hopes up.  He/she still has until Friday, anyways.

On another note, this is copyright drama.

First day at work was interesting.  The workplace is small, so we all had lunch together.  I’m still trying to figure out what I’m supposed to do there, but I’m told all first days are a bit like that.  On top of that, people seem to be expecting me to stay for more than 2-3 years…  But-but-but…  I’m … not…???

New translations will come soon.  Soon being 1-2 weeks.  Hopefully it’ll be a big haul, especially since I like the next few chapters a lot~

Games:

  • Tales of Vesperia (PS3) <- omfg, almost done ><
  • Tales of Symphonia (PS2)
  • Digimon Adventure (PSP)

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. terracannon876
    Feb 19, 2013 @ 19:49:27

    On a random note, tuesday (I know you’ll read this someday), you actually mentioned something that I’d kindasorta vaguely brought up when I’d talked to tennenouji about LD. I was amused.

    Not sure if our logic is right on the “it may help against piracy,” but I’m still going with it.

    Thanks, btw.

    Like

    Reply

    • Tuesday
      Feb 19, 2013 @ 22:07:45

      Oh, hey! (I do get email updates for new posts, so I promise I’m not constantly refreshing your front page or something ;u;) I actually felt a little embarrassed after I’d chilled out a little, because I wasn’t sure if you really wanted to be brought up (though the OP alreadu had brought up your translations) — I’m glad you don’t mind it though, so NP❤!

      I really hate to see other translators disrespected and slandered for trying to be reasonable and not promote piracy, so I wanted to at least say something. (And everyone from the DiaLovers translation wiki had themselves covered, so.) I mean, there are still ways to pirate the game whether or not you have a translation, but the temptation is definitely much less without a patch so I do think having a only translation reduces the likelihood of piracy while still providing a means for English speakers to enjoy the game. With Lucky Dog 1 in particular, I think people should be even more respectful of the no-patch/sub nature of these translations, because it's something the creators wanted. If you can't respect the creators, you're probably not a very good fan, in my opinion.

      Like

      Reply

      • Britches
        Feb 20, 2013 @ 12:58:42

        I am so grateful for your comment on that person’s page, I truly am. You managed to say everything I would have liked to say, and infinitively more polite and to the point, too. You kick ass.

        Like

        Reply

      • Aibrean
        Feb 20, 2013 @ 16:07:32

        Your comment on that stupid post made my day. I read the post, and then started scrolling through the comments, getting increasingly pissed off, and formulating the response I was going to write, when I happened upon yours. It was literally almost exactly what I was going to write, to the point that it was almost spooky. You’re awesome. Great job, because I couldn’t have done it better myself

        Like

        Reply

      • terracannon876
        Feb 20, 2013 @ 21:12:30

        Eh, I was going to write the same thing. You actually put it much more elegantly than I would have, so … it’s all good!

        *gives plate of cookies*😀

        Also, you are no practically a celebrity here😄

        Like

        Reply

      • Tuesday
        Feb 26, 2013 @ 21:30:16

        I got busy so I couldn’t reply as early as I liked, but thank you for your kind words, everyone ;u;/!! It’s reassuring that opinions like the OP of that entitled article are a minority, or at least frowned upon. The cookies are also appreciated :3c

        also jfkd celebrity?? haha, that might be a bit much but the sentiment is appreciated!!

        Like

        Reply

        • terracannon876
          Feb 27, 2013 @ 15:29:23

          Thankfully it’s the minority; however, just one getting away with a patch is enough to make the effort all for naught, which is why I try to be strict on this part. It’s about the only thing preventing me from feeling bad about all this flagging.

          YouTube, at least, has a responsible and fairly responsive crew on watch for this, thankfully.

          Like

          Reply

      • D
        Mar 26, 2013 @ 20:50:36

        You have no idea how excited I was to see your comment on that blog. I kept reading all the comments until I got to yours and thought, “Finally! Someone mentioned the fact that terracannon got permission to translate.”
        Thanks for that cause I would have personally written one myself if you hadn’t.

        Like

        Reply

  2. allycat
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 01:08:11

    O.M.G! Can anyone make a more insulting and infuriating page!?! I don’t know about anyone else but I just had to reread it to make sure Aaeru was saying what I thought they wrote. And Tuesday I read your comment and i thought you rocked! Your one of my new hero’s! I have to admit the more I read the angrier I got that someone out there was encouraging others to ignore the translators wishes. And when they brought Terra up on their page i have to admit it kinda got me very upset. I hope whoever it is on youtube does the right thing and respects your wishes to take the video down. But if they read what Aaeru wrote they might not. If they don’t, tell me who it is and I’ll flag the hell outa them! I’ve never flagged someone before but I shall gladly do this for you! I don’t like aggressive measures because despite all I like keeping peace but for this I will happily take up arms!

    I’m glad to hear you like your work! Don’t feel pressured to stay for longer than you want to though. Spread your wings and don’t ignore it when opportunity comes knocking! By the way the specialty school I want to go to is really pricey and I don’t want to take out government loans. -_-; The interest is scary. But lucky for me I have been saving since high school and hopefully in no longer than 4 to 5 more months I will have enough money to pay for half and get a loan from a credit union! I will be able to get a good interest rate cause they said my credit score was good! YAY! I WILL GET MY CERTIFIED IF ITS THE LAST THING I DO!!

    I’m rooting for you and your job!

    Like

    Reply

    • terracannon876
      Feb 20, 2013 @ 21:14:01

      I wish you best of luck then o_o If you don’t mind me asking, what are you trying to get certified in??

      Thanks for all the support! \o/

      Like

      Reply

      • allycat
        Feb 22, 2013 @ 00:49:18

        It’s a little embarrassing to say but ever since middle school I’ve wanted to be a massage therapist. I like making people feel good and helping others in relieving their pain. When I get certified I would like to have some spa experience but my long term goal is to use my massage for medical purposes, like maybe physical therapy. I have always liked to help others in pain and if this can relieve just a little of it I will be happy.

        It bums me that I can’t start right away but in the meantime I have decided to study as hard as I can on my own before I start. Give myself a leg up so to speak. Anatomy is hard. -_-; One of my parents doesn’t support my decision and that hurts, but not enough for me to lose hope! I will not give up and will keep heading for my goal! (waves fist in the air!)

        Like

        Reply

        • terracannon876
          Feb 23, 2013 @ 23:18:19

          I think it’s pretty admirable you have a goal in mind and are willing to work towards it, especially for something as left field as a massage therapist. I actually had my first massage earlier this year and … I was like, poking my shoulder going, “Wow … I don’t think it’s EVER been this soft o___o”

          I wish you the best of luck! =)

          Like

          Reply

  3. icassop
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 08:25:20

    I know why tennenouji want to stay out of crap like this. Because ppl are stupid.
    But who am I to talk. *sighs*

    Like

    Reply

  4. ceru-chan
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 09:40:44

    Wow, that copyright drama is like, the height of bitchy piracy. My copy, your copy – semantics. O.o And I can’t believe the youtuber still hasn’t taken it down! Seriously link us if they don’t do it by Friday and let us all flag them into oblivion! I’m sure we’re all more than willing to do that in support of your hard work here!

    (Your suggesting the next round of updates will be a big one makes me very, very excited and very, very grateful that midterms end tomorrow. ;D GIULIO~~~~)

    Like

    Reply

  5. siumai
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 01:04:28

    Holy crap I got enraged reading that girl’s page, especially when she mentioned you. Apparently she does not read your page or else she’d know you actually got explicit permission from Tennenouji. I remember even asking you once if their company would allow you to use your translation as a patch and making an English release of Lucky Dog. And you said they weren’t interested in releasing an English version of it. So I say you are not infringing on any copyright issues if you have the creators permission. I don’t know what hot fart that person is spouting, but it sounds like she’s just trying to grab at straws to justify her own means.

    *sigh* That’s why we can’t have nice things:\

    Like

    Reply

  6. Pengaana
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 21:28:43

    Oh gosh this is just nasty what’s being thrown around there. I was in a forum community where the translators had to go underground and password protect everything due to people not following the rules so stuff like this really saddens me. :<
    I'm usually pretty silent but I'd just like to say I'm rooting for ya, keep on going and try not to get burnt out on life and drama.

    Like

    Reply

  7. Jessica
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 13:29:49

    When’re the next LD chapters comming out??? DB

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

