Site changes

So, I’ve been hoping to change my site around a bit for a long time now, and recently I’ve had to make some changes.  Except not quite the ones I was thinking about.

Good and bad news incoming!

The Lucky Dog 1 interview has garnered quite some attention from Japan.  Since it’s a Siliconera-exclusive interview, it attracted eyes because we actually got some information Japan didn’t, and so Japanese fans have turned their eyes on the site and, consequently, this blog.

Because of this, I need to play nice and avoid disturbing certain sensibilities.

No matter how much I want to share certain things with fans overseas.

First, I can no longer share the (few, oh so few) non-Anniversary SS I had translated.  They are owned jointly by tennenouji and whatever publishing company the preorder good came from.  There is a small chance this may change in the future, but I will have to try my best to see what can be done about this.

Second, all my Lucky Dog 1 Youtube videos have been deleted.  Originally, I had uploaded these videos to YT because Nicovideo wasn’t really accessible to non-Japanese speaking users, but now this isn’t the case.  There isn’t really a reason for me to keep them other than minor site advertising, and though they will probably be missed, with the witch hunt Japan is doing at the moment against non-content creators, it’s best if I just take those down.

This touches upon my Vocaloid videos.  Those have also been removed.  Not that any of you watch those.

I’m too lazy to remove all the links on the sites, though, so those … are just going to stay there.  You can see the dead leftover carcasses of the bygone YT videos.

Eventually I will try my best to locate these videos on Nico (I have the ID, but I just need to set the time aside).

Third, just to avoid getting into possible future trouble, I’ve removed what (also lilliputian) Orphen I’ve done.  I will also see what I can do about this, but this will be … more difficult, to say the least.

Now, as a closing, let me … sort of summarize what I understand of this … fiasco in Japan is like atm.  I hadn’t really paid attention to it, but I’ve seen some tweets on tennenouji about it, and now that I’m getting some notice of my own content, I’ve had to pay more attention to it.  These are my views on the content, but they are by no means the absolute correct interpretation (it’s a constant Q&A session between me and tennenouji), so please add in your 2 cents if you see something wrong.

With the recent copyright law against piracy going into affect in Japan, they’re suddenly able to crack down against overseas piracy and such.  Also included are videos that use the original game like LPs and AMVs that are created by other people but are reposted.  Basically, if you didn’t make it yourself, you are up to scrutiny.

What does this mean about fanworks, then?

As I understand, copyright and fanworks in America (maybe other countries, too) work like this: unless stated otherwise, you can make what you want with regards to a series (fanart, fanfic, etc) so long as you are not doing it for profit or commercializing it without permission.  Or harming the original’s profit.

However, in Japan, it’s more … you cannot make anything related to a work unless stated otherwise, and if so, you may be able to also make some profit from it.

Basically, America is a “innocent until proven guilty,” while Japan is a “guilty until proven innocent” kind of philosophy.

(tennenouji, by the way, has stated in their guidelines that any fanworks are welcome so long as you’re not commercially profiting from it.  However, guideline exceptions are subject to be made at any time.  On the other hand, UtaPrince’s creator Broccoli have a much tighter fist on their fanworks.  You can’t make anything “out of line” with how they view their characters, if I recall correctly from their guidelines.)

Translation is still going on.  If you remember, tennenouji has given their OK, so that and all Anniversary SS are safe from the scrutinizing, critical eyes of the original country’s fans.  Some of my other projects will be stifled, but they should be OK.

Finally-finally, REMEMBER THE CONTEST STILL EXISTS!!! 😀

Participants now number 22.

If you are at all interested in Lucky Dog 1 official goods, please participate!  I’ve tried to make the contest as accessible and free from criticizing judgment as possible, so please comment or email me if you have any concerns!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. May Leung
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 18:44:34

    That seems like such a stressful situation, but I’m glad it doesn’t have too big an impact on your LD1 translations! Best of luck to your other translations as well.

    How will this affect doujinshi in Japan? The artists do profit from those and much of them are “out of line” with how the original creators view the series haha…it’ll be insane if artistic liberties are completely taken away. Do most series give the go-ahead for fanworks to be made?

    Like

    Reply

    • terracannon876
      Aug 12, 2014 @ 18:47:50

      Most companies understand the value of freedom of expression and fanworks, so they allow it. The difference with Doujinshi (which are sold by artists for a profit) and “commercialized profit” is the limited number of sales, I believe. Doujinshi are typically only sold during one convention or during one event for a limited time and has only one printing. No artist is going to make enough profit to harm the main franchise, and the doujinshi isn’t being mass produced or anything like an official manga adaptation is. That’s … how I view it, at least. I haven’t asked tennenouji on the finer details since I don’t deal with doujinshi, but if you’d like, I can pass the question to them. They’re really open to questions.

      Like

      Reply

  2. May Leung
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 19:28:23

    I see, thanks for your response! It’s good to know that doujinshi and fanart won’t come to a grinding halt all of a sudden from this, since fanworks of a series bring me a great deal of happiness. YouTube has always been cracking down on copyright infringement and now I commonly see OPs and EDs to anime that have been sped up or slowed by a fraction to avoid getting removed, even if credit is stated in the description.

    Side note though I’m super thankful that tennenouji is so cooperative with you and even gave you an exclusive interview! It’s nice seeing Japanese companies interested in expanding to an English-speaking audience. (: I’ll be sure to mention my thanks in the LD1 contest book that you’re sending~

    Like

    Reply

    • terracannon876
      Aug 20, 2014 @ 20:51:12

      Late reply, but as I see it, the reason YT cracks down on openings and endings is because those are uploaded as is. If they are edited a bit, 1.) the automatic detector doesn’t find it and, 2.) it sort of counts as them altering it, so it’s harder for YT to make a case. Credit … is something that we do a lot of (“it’s not my stuff. Go here for the actual stuff” etc.), but ultimately, the original person is getting a lot fewer hits than they could have. Originally I had YT videos uploaded with my translation in the descriptions, but I’ve been told that just giving credit and adding comments like that isn’t actually making your original video.

      According to tennenouji (or maybe it’s just because of their own fairly liberal POV), most Japanese companies would be willing to work with fans if only they’d ask first. It’s really not a “do first, ask for forgiveness later” situation with them since, as they put it, creating these games are their only source of livelihood.

      I’m sure they’d love to hear what you have to say 🙂 I can only hope that I do it justice in my translation XD

      Like

      Reply

  3. yuurei
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 03:55:11

    It’s a pity that we can’t read the non Anniversary SS any more. . Still i want to know If its okay for me to ask a translated copy of them?
    not going to post them of course,
    🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. yuurei
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 03:56:41

    It’s a pity that we can’t read the non Anniversary SS any more. . Still i want to know If its okay for me to ask a translated copy of them?
    not going to post them of course, thanks
    🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • terracannon876
      Aug 20, 2014 @ 20:47:38

      Mm, I’d have to get back to you on that later. I definitely can’t post them on the web, but I can probably email them to you at individually so long as it’s for “personal use.” (ie, don’t post it to facebook, your blog, or tumblr or something.) But otherwise, there shouldn’t be a problem since it is the same as me handing them to a friend.

      Like

      Reply

  5. SoapyToast1
    Aug 19, 2014 @ 12:05:24

    Does this affect the drama CD’s as well? I don’t think you’ve translated any yet but I think I remember reading that you were going to.
    Excited for the competition though, can’t wait to see all the fan love.

    Like

    Reply

    • terracannon876
      Aug 20, 2014 @ 20:46:23

      Yeah, no drama CDs either.

      25 people participating! BOOYAKA

      Like

      Reply

      • SoapyToast1
        Aug 21, 2014 @ 07:08:45

        Considering there’s only a population of 70 where I live, 25 seems like a lot. Will you do the book with 25 or do you still want more people involved?
        Shame about the CD’s and SS but at least we’ve still got the game routes – the glass shall forever be half full!

        Like

        Reply

  6. terracannon876
    Aug 21, 2014 @ 09:26:10

    Eh, aim high? Remember that I’m trying to show tennenouji the support from overseas fans … ie, fans from all countries other than Japan. 50 … isn’t such a high number then.

    But yeah, I’ll send the book, of course, even with 25. You guys are all putting much too much effort into this for me not to 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

